Thinking about getting your windows tinted in Tennessee but want to stay within the legal limits? Below you’ll find the tint laws for Middle Tennessee.
The darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT percent). In Tennessee, this percentage refers to the percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window.
How dark can window tint be in Tennessee?
- Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed along the top of the windshield above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
- Front Side Windows: Must allow more than 35 percent of light in.
- Back Side Windows: Must allow more than 35 percent of light in.
- Rear Window: Must allow more than 35 percent of light in.
How reflective can the tint be in Tennessee?
- Front Side Windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
- Back Side Windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Other rules and regulations:
- Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly banned.
- Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
- Certificate Requirements: Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state.
- Sticker Requirements: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on the driver’s side window.
- Medical Exemption: State allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
For all of your window tinting needs in Middle Tennessee, call Accu-Tint today at 615-859-5519. Be sure to visit us today for professional, flawless auto window tinting, residential and commercial tinting, and more!